Source: nessaymyname on pinterest (personal account)

THE ULTIMATE 80–20 RULES

Ranessa
2 min readJul 28, 2021

--

The 80–20 Eating Rules is famous and has been acknowledged by many models and dietitians due to its simplicity and flexibility to follow during a diet. What you eat in a day needs to consist of a lot about 80–85% of healthy, low calories, and have all the good nutrients while you spend the other 15% to 20% of it with food that fills up ur emotions, take my example, ice creams.

I am not a fan of sweet treats, but ice creams are one big exception. I could have a whole bucket of ice creams for myself in just 2 hours. It’s hard to resist it if it’s stocked in the freezer. I was having a good and consistent low-calorie diet until my mother decided to stock up on ice cream. The long Viennetta by Walls was selling well back in the early 2000s and just 2 years back having its comeback due to consumers.

That was a little irrelevant,

but what I was going to say is even during your diet, it is completely okay to treat your mental cravings. For me, ice cream is a big distraction. Instead of keeping myself away from it, I prefer to eat it once in a while whilst continuing my clean diet. Based on my experience, every time I pushed myself to avoid sweets and junk food, once I stopped my routine or took a chance to have a cheat day, my body constantly eating out of control, and I would pretty much gain as much or even more than my previous weight before the diet.

There is a reason why this is happening.

Simply, according to healthline.com, our negative emotions take over when we overeat. It is because of the constant suppression from “bad food” by the time we have a chance to eat everything we crave, our emotion tends to think that there is no tomorrow and that every day is the only day we can enjoy these burgers and ice cream we have craved for the last 2 weeks. That way, we eat more and tolerate ourselves to eat as much as we like, end up binging, and then guilt starts to grow.

This can cause an unhealthy relationship with food and will impact our productivity and mental health. Balance is key, it is not worth it to suppress your cravings, eat what you like to eat.

--

--